Bonus Labor Day Potpourri

I’m letting lunch settle before I go for a walk and come home for some class prep, so I thought I’d share a little bit of this and that while I wait.

***

First off, I’d like to put in a plug for a friend of mine’s blog. Will was a classmate of mine at the small college I attended for a couple of years after high school. He was there on the same scholarship I had, but unlike me, he kept his, and went on to become a math prof at a college in Kentucky that bears similarities both to our mutual alma mater and Mondoville. He’s also a restaurant-quality music buff (we initially met through the college radio station), and his blog, The Music of My Life, is a nifty exploration of memoir-with-soundtrack. We were and are friends (although I suspect I was the evil-Spock-with-a-goatee version of him in more than a few ways), but I’d recommend the blog even if I didn’t know him that well — it’s good reading. And listening.

***

Speaking of music, I’ve mentioned the odd story of “outsider band” The Shaggs in past installments. As it happens, the two surviving members of the trio — Betty and Dot Wiggin (the drummer, their sister Helen, died in 2006) recently did a rare gig at Wilco’s Solid Sound Festival, and the New Yorker has covered this as well. Check it out.

***

I spent some of last night and this morning reviewing line edits for the reissue of Broken Glass Waltzes (with a nifty new pulp-style cover with art by James Ray Tuck) that will come out in October. Some of the edits seem to have been matters of house style, but several others I think were distinct improvements, so I’m grateful to the folks at Down & Out for the chance to make my book better. I hope you’ll get to enjoy it soon as well.

***

And with that, I really need to get started on my stroll, but here’s a bit of the music I like to listen to while I alternate feet. I hope the long weekend has treated you well, and that we see one another soon!

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Alternating Feet, Broken Glass Waltzes, Music, Pixel-stained Wretchery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

