Bouchercon, Day Zero (In Which the Prof Vandalizes Someone’s Inventory)

I flew into Toronto today, and boy, are my arms tired.

No, wait. My arms really are tired, but it’s because I had to get up at 3:30 to get to Real City in time to star in Security Theater before catching my 7 a.m. flight. I got the full patdown and hand swab — I’m guessing it has something to do with the fact that in order to save money, I booked my return flight on a different airline, so it looked like I had a one-way ticket. However, I passed the check, and made it here a little after 11 a.m. Although I arrived before check-in time, the nice people at the Doubletree Hotel had a room ready. As I was checking in, I realized that I’ve been coming up here whenever possible for 25 years now. I hope the trend continues.

Because I’m bigger than the airline industry cares to acknowledge, I’ve been stiff and sore since my arrival, but I was able to make it to the food court at Eaton Centre for lunch, and followed that with a walk to the local bookstore/frappuccino preserve. As I wandered around, I saw that the store had two copies of In Sunlight or In Shadow, and both sported stickers announcing that the book had apparently been endorsed by a staffer named Jay. I took the two copies to an employee — not Jay, alas — and pointed to my name among the many on the cover.

“I’m this guy,” I said, “and I was wondering if you’d like me to sign the book.”

“Hang on,” he said. “Let me get my manager.” So he did, and I identified myself once again when she arrived. She seemed genuinely pleased, and grabbed a marker from the cashwrap. A moment later, I had done my bit, and she affixed “Autographed Copy” stickers to both.

“You realize,” I said, “that I’m the least famous writer in the book. I hope I didn’t lower the value.” But who knows? Maybe I’ll be the Button Gwinnett of the Edward Hopper anthology roster. Either way, it felt like a good omen for the convention.

My next stop was the Sheraton Centre, the HQ hotel for the convention. I found the registration desk with no trouble and got my swag bag, with plenty of stuff to read. After that, I chilled at the room for a bit, before grabbing dinner and supplies and returning here to do this entry and call it a night. I can use the rest, and I’m doing my “official” con appearance in the morning. But there’ll likely be other stuff as well, so check in for updates.

And in honor of my flight to Toronto, only one song seems appropriate:

See you soon, eh?

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Literature, Music, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

