Mini-Potpourri: Tuesday Point of View Edition

Getting ready to take the Spawn for a flu shot in a little bit, but in the meantime…

***

Crime writer S.W. Lauden (whose Bad Citizen Corporation is worth your time) did an e-mail interview with me last week, and it appeared at his blog yesterday. Feel free to check it out, and spend a little time looking over his other conversations with independent crime writers.

(By the way, the books I mention late in the interview are for sale in both dead tree and e-dition versions. Pick up the charity anthology Betrayed here, and place an advance order for Alive in Shape and Color here.)

***

I had a very satisfying 8 a.m. class today. It’s my theodicy class, and we’re working through Camus’s The Plague this week and next. I have several very bright kids in there, with a variety of philosophical and theological stances. As a consequence, discussions break out (as they should), and today four students stuck around after class, arguing about absurdism, ethics, and the idea of objective and subjective moralities (with Your Genial Host tossing in the occasional strip of red meat as needed). In fact, I had to run them into the hallway when it was time for my next class, but before I did, I got an idea. Next Tuesday, those four kids are teaching the class about Part 4 of Camus’s book. I love what I do, but some days I love it more than others.

***

And as befits my potpourri posts in general (and this one in particular), here’s a nice slab of fuzz from The Plagues, a Lansing, MI-based combo led by William Malone, who is now best known for making such movies as Fear Dot Com, the remake of House on Haunted Hill, and 2008’s Parasomnia (which features quite a bit of garage rock on its soundtrack.) In fact, this is one of the songs you’ll find in the movie, and it actually kind of makes me want to check out the film. From 1966, this is “I’ve Been Through It Before.” Dig the way the drum sound gets bigger and bigger as the track progresses.

See you soon!

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Broken Glass Waltzes, Culture, Education, Literature, Music, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mini-Potpourri: Tuesday Point of View Edition

  1. rlk9 says:

    Apropos of “from a Tuesday point of view,” I’ve created my own earwig. I can only hear “Nothing matters but the weekend, From a Tuesday point of view ,” sung in the voice of faux Sammy Davis Jr. from the disco lifestyle awards.

Leave a Reply

